How I set Up My First Blog

  1. Did a search for best free blogging sites.
  2. Found a site that rated the top 10 blogging services as of Jan. 2011
  3. WordPress got the highest rating, so I decided to use that.  The next three included TypePad, Squarespace and Blogger.  If I don’t like WordPress, I’ll go down the list.
  4. Went to www.wordpress.com and signed up – my name was available – jillmcnair.wordpress.com.  Had to go to my email and click a link to activate my blog.  Clicked the link and it took me to my blog’s dashboard where I control everything
  5. Went to the Settings section and set it up as I wanted, including uploading a photo (which I had to find on my computer)
  6. Went through the “Get Acquainted” section to familiarize myself with the options.
  7. Then searched for a theme that I like and activated it.
  8. Started typing my first blog ever!  I like WordPress!
One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Scott Hillstrom on November 8, 2011 at 8:40 PM

    WordPress is awesome. Nice write-up Jill 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

